President Buhari Reacts To Defected Senators

President Muhammadu Buhari of Nigeria, have reacted to the enormous defection that occurred yesterday during plenary.

The President has however expressed confidence in a tweet early hours of this morning, saying this defection will do the APC no harm.

No fewer than fifteen Senators in the Nigerian Senate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) were said to have defected to the Nigerian opposition People’s Democratic Party as the Senate President Bukola Saraki announced during plenary yesterday.


Bukola Saraki, however, is strongly envisaged to defect from the APC anytime soon this week, a move that would hand over the leadership of the Senate to the People’s Democratic Party with Senator Godswill Akpabuyo automatically as Senate Majority Leader.

A Full List Of Senators That Defected Are:

1. Barnabas Gemade – Benue
2.Shaaba Lafiaji – Kwara
3. Rafiu Ibrahim – Kwara
4. Usman Nafada – Gombe
5. Suleiman Hunkuyi – Kaduna
6. Ibrahim Danbaba
7. Ubale Shittu
8. Isah Misau,
9. Suleiman Nazif,
10. Rafiu Ibrahim,
11. Dino Melaye,
12. Lanre Tejuosho.
13. Musa Kwankwanso
14. Suji Akanbi and
15. Monsurat Sunmonu – Oyo

The Nigerian Senate, however, following the invasion of its leaders has announced it will go on their eight weeks-long recess.

The legislative arm adjourned plenary to Tuesday 25th September 2018.

Senate President Bukola Saraki announced the recess at the plenary yesterday.
Senators Monsurat Sunmonu of Oyo, however, defected to the African Democratic Congress.

However, President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria has reacted to the defected party members, saying no harm what so ever will happen to the APC following their defection

President Muhammadu Buhari’s Tweet Reads:


Share This:

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: